Words–thoughts for Christian writers

John 1:1 In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God.

 

Words. Writers work everyday with words. How important is that?

Words are so important that the apostle John, inspired by God, called God’s own Son, Jesus, the Word–Jesus, God’s ultimate communication with mankind.

Words are so important that in the beginning of the world, God put them into the mouths of only one of His many creations, the only one made in His image: mankind.

Words are so important that God chose to inspire certain men over the centuries to write down His will for us so that we could have a solid, unchanging copy of His eternal plan in our Bible.

Writers work everyday with words. What a breath-taking and humbling responsibility.

Even as I write fiction to entertain readers, I can use my words to tear down or build up. I can use them to incite to evil or inspire to good. I can use them as a curse or a blessing. I can let my Christian light shine, or I can hide it under a bushel.

What would Jesus do? What would He expect me to do with this special gift of words?

About dhparker

Christian Missouri Ozarks native author of family-rated fiction
This entry was posted in Faith, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Words–thoughts for Christian writers

  1. janiesusanna says:

    That’s a beautiful thought!

  2. dhparker says:

    Thank you for reading it!

  3. Lynette says:

    Hi, Donna. Just found your blog. Thanks for giving me a glimpse of your corner of the world. I know how you feel. I was born in the Blue Ridge Mountains of NC and though I no longer live there I get homesick for them sometimes. I love going back to visit. Looking forward to your next book.

  4. dhparker says:

    Thanks for visiting, Lynette. I’m looking forward to yours, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

