If only… An Open Letter to Presidential Candidates

Dear Candidate: I’m really tired of hearing or reading rants (by you or your supporters) about how unspeakably horrible your opponents are (implying, of course, that you, and you alone, are perfect).

STOP IT! What I need from you is the truth.
Don’t try to tear down your opponents–especially not with lies or half-truths.
Don’t tell me what you think I “want” to hear.
Don’t tell me what you think I “ought” to hear.
Don’t try to politician around and give me beautiful-sounding words that mean nothing.

1. Tell me in a calm, reasonable, inside voice–and in detail–how YOU plan to preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution. (You do remember that’s in the Presidential oath, don’t you?)

2. Tell me whom you would like to appoint to help you preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution. In case you haven’t figured this out, you probably can’t do it all yourself. Certainly, you have some talents, but no one person is gifted in every nuance of how to run this country. One mark of a great president is his ability to surround himself with knowledgeable, competent people who are willing a) to work with him as a team, and b) to work for the good of the country.

3. Tell me your deepest beliefs, if you have any, and why you hold them. What has made you the person you are? I will not vote for you or against you on the basis of your beliefs alone, but I would like to know them.

4. Finally, tell me honestly why you want to be President of the United States.

Tell me the truth about these four things, Candidate. Tell it without profanity or hatred or sarcasm or drama of any kind. Tell it calmly. Tell it with respect and civility.  Just tell the truth.

 

About dhparker

Christian Missouri Ozarks native author of family-rated fiction
This entry was posted in politics, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

